Faculty Awards

Appalachian Studies Faculty Selected Awards 2000-current


Hougland, J. – Departmental Service Award, Department of Sociology, University of Kentucky.

Raitz, K. – University of Kentucky President’s Diversity Award.


Badagliacco, J. – Paul W. Chellgren Endowed Professorship, Chellgren Center for Excellence in Undergraduate Education, University of Kentucky, 2007-2010.

Badagliacco, J. – University of Kentucky, Sarah Bennet Holmes for Contributions to the Lives of Women in the Community.

Billings, D. – Callahan Distinguished Lecture in History, West Virginia University.

Hustedde, R. – Excellence in Extension, 2007 National Award, Cooperative Extension System, CSREES/USDA, Nationa; Association of Public Universities and Land Grant Colleges.

Norman, G. – Appalachian Studies Association Community Service Award.

Raitz, K. – Historic Preservation Faculty of the Year Award, College of Design, by HP faculty and students.


Billings, D. – Eberly College of Arts and Sciences Alumni Award, West Virginia University.

Brunn, S. – Lifetime Service Award, Southeastern Division, AAG.

Hustedde, R. – Recognition of Kentucky Entrepreneurial Coaches Institute as “one of the sixteen best entrepreneurial practices in the U.S.” by the Kauffman Foundation, National Lieutenant Governors’ Association and the U.S. Small Business Administration Office of Advocacy.


Badagliacco, J. – C.I.E.S., Fulbright Senior Scholar, 2005-2010.

Cross, A. – Outstanding Kentucky Jouralist, Louisville Chapter, Society of Professional Journalists.

Eller, R. – National Endowment for The Humanities Summer Stipend Award.

Pen, R. – Mary Bingham Professorship, University of Kentucky.

Raitz, K. – Outstanding Profesor Award, Presented by University of Kentucky Geography Department Undergraduate Majors.


Brunn, S. – Distinguished Mentor Award, National Council for Geographic Education.

Raitz, K. – Ralph Brown Day Keynote Lecture, University of Minnesota, Department of Geography.

Raitz, K. – Distinguished Alumni Award, University of Minnesota, Department of Geography.


Billings, D. – Distinguished Professor of College of Arts and Sciences, University of Kentucky.

DeYoung, A. – John J. and Nancy Lee Roberts Research Fellowship Award, Education in Central Asia.

Raitz, K. – Clay Lancaster Heritage Education Award, The Bluegrass Trust for Historic Preservation.

Raitz, K. – Kentucky State Geographer, Appointed by Governor Paul Patten.


Hougland, J. – Recipient, Alex Boros Award for Distinguished Contributions to SAS, Society for Applied Sociology.

Norman, G. – East Kentucky Leadership Culture/Arts Award, East Kentucky Leadership Conference.

Pen, R. – Provost’s Award for Excellence in Teaching, University of Kentucky.


Badagliacco, J. – University of Kentucky Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Teaching Tenured Faculty.

Badagliacco, J. – American Sociological Association, Spivak Community Action Research Award.

Billings, D. – Weatherford Award for Best Book in Appalachian Studies for The Road to Poverty presented by Berea College and the Appalachian Studies Association.

DeYoung, A. – UK College of Education Outstanding Researcher Award.


Billings, D. - University of Kentucky Chancellor’s Outstanding Teaching Award (Tenured Category).

Eller, R. – John D. Whisman Scholar, Appalachian Regional Commission, Washington, D.C. 1998-2000.

Rice, C. – Dissertation Enhancement Award, University of Kentucky.

Share this